A White Rock student and Bentley Park teacher have won $5,000 each in recognition of their excellence in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Member for Mulgrave Curtis Pitt said Trinity Anglican School student Stephanie Schmidt had been named Outstanding Senior STEM Student and Bentley Park College teacher Paw Kappel had been named Outstanding Teacher of STEM in the 2016 Peter Doherty Awards.

“Stephanie has excelled throughout her school years and has received numerous student awards for her work in science as well as being a University of Queensland Science Ambassador in 2015,” Mr Pitt said.

“Paw has been instrumental in the expansion of STEM education at Bentley Park College, creating specialised programs in Robotics, Multimedia, Programming and Databases, providing students with greater learning opportunities.”

“As the local Member I’m thrilled to commend Stephanie and Paw for their commitment to academic excellence and congratulate on their well-deserved recognition.”

They are among 30 Queenslander award winners each receiving a $5,000 prize.

Mr Pitt said the awards recognised teachers, students, support officers, schools and education partners for excellence in STEM education.

“The recipients of the 2016 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in STEM Education represent some of the very brightest and best of our science, technology, engineering and mathematics students and teachers,” he said.

Mr Pitt said the Palaszczuk Government was committed to improving the teaching of STEM subjects in Queensland.

“We are committed to ensuring that every student in Queensland has access to a quality STEM education as we prepare them for jobs of the future,” Mr Pitt said.

“These awards are one way we can help promote the importance of STEM subjects to students and recruit and retain the best teaching staff.”

The awards take their name from Nobel Laureate and Indooroopilly State High School graduate Professor Peter Doherty AC, co-recipient of the 1996 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and 1997 Australian of the Year.

The full list of winners can be found on the department’s website at www.education.qld.gov.au/science-awards.