[singlepic id=398 w=320 h=240 float=left] Twenty-five Queenslanders have been recognised as part of National Science Week by being named as winners of the 2011 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science and Science Education.

Member for Mulgrave, Curtis Pitt, has congratulated Tracy Oades, a teacher at Innisfail State College, who has been awarded one of seven Outstanding Teacher of Science Awards.

“I congratulate Ms Oades and thank her for her outstanding contribution and dedication to science education in Queensland,” he said.

Mr Pitt said Tracy Oades’s achievement reflected the pursuit of excellence that was a hallmark of Innisfail State College.

“Tracy has created engaging and hands on programs linked to environmental and agricultural issues which helps students link their learning with the community,” he said.

“Local fruit growers have been working with students on real world outcomes which will hopefully encourage more students to pursue careers in science.”

Awards will be presented at a ceremony at Customs House in Brisbane on Thursday, 6 October.

The awards honour leading Queensland scientist and Nobel laureate Peter Doherty. Professor Doherty was Australian of the Year in 1997. He and his Swiss colleague Rolf Zinkernagel were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1996 for discovering the nature of cellular immune defence.

Mr Pitt said the awards encourage more Queenslanders to pursue careers in science, engineering, technology and innovation, and reward achievements in these sectors.

“The winners include students, teachers, school leaders, volunteers, scientific industries, business associations, community organisations and tertiary education and research institutions,” Mr Pitt said.

The 25 winners will share in $89,000 of prize money allowing them to continue their important work and science studies.