The State Government has made $1 million available for sport and recreation clubs to repair facilities affected by flooding.

Clubs with playing fields, clubhouses, equipment or other property damaged by recent wet weather could apply for assistance through the Disaster Recovery Program.

State Member for Mulgrave Curtis Pitt said sporting clubs would be able to get back on their feet thanks to funding from the Bligh Government.

“The Bligh Government will provide up to $5,000 so clubs can replace damaged equipment, and up to $20,000 to repair infrastructure affected by the wet weather,” Mr Pitt said.

“Funding will assist clubs to replace lighting, fencing and even white goods.”

Sport Minister Phil Reeves said large areas of the State were still under water and the full extent of damage will not be known until the water recedes.

“Sport and recreation clubs are the lifeblood of our communities so it’s important we get their facilities repaired as soon as possible,” Mr Reeves said.

“We’re committed to ensuring our sporting organisations get repairs underway in order to minimise disruption to the community.”

Officers from the Department of Communities, Sport and Recreation Services will be available to assist clubs with their applications.

The funding guidelines are available at Applications close 30 April 2010.  Information is also available by telephoning 1300 656 191.

Additional information:

Flood and cyclone assistance has been activated in local government areas of:

Aurukun, Balonne, Banana, Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Bulloo, Bundaberg, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Central Highlands, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Doomadgee, Etheridge, Fraser Coast, Gladstone, Gold Coast, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Isaac, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Lockyer Valley, Longreach, Logan, Mackay, Maranoa, McKinlay, Mornington, Mt Isa, Murweh, Northern Peninsula, Palm Island, Paroo, Pormpuraaw, Quilpie, Richmond, Rockhampton, Scenic Rim, Tablelands, Torres Shire, Torres Strait Island, Townsville, Western Downs, Whitsunday, Winton, Woorabinda, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.